The Stranger

Dear readers,

We need your help. The coronavirus crisis in Seattle is a major threat to The Stranger's ability to keep the city informed. We pride ourselves on having navigated many storms in the world of independent local media, but this time is different.

90% of our revenue—from advertising, ticketing fees, and our own events—is directly tied to people getting together in groups. The coronavirus situation has virtually eliminated this income all at once. At a time when the city needs local coverage more than ever, we're asking for your help to support continued coverage of everything happening in Seattle. You can make one-time or recurring donations. We can't say enough how much we appreciate your support. Thank you.

Elliott Bay Book Company

Recommended

This business has special options available during the COVID-19 pandemic.

  • Takeout
  • Gift Cards
  • Curbside Pickup
  • Special Promotion
  • Shipping
  • Subscription
  • Free media mail shipping on online orders
  • Buy a $200 gift card and get a free Elliott Bay mug
  • Blind Date with a Puzzle
  • Subscription boxes: Maiden Voyage First Edition Program and Subtext Poetry Subscription Box
  • Audiobook partnership with Libro.fm
  • 1521 10th Ave (Capitol Hill)
    Seattle, WA 98122
    206-624-6600
    website
    Almost every day, Elliott Bay hosts a free reading at 7 pm—often featuring a widely published touring author, sometimes highlighting someone integral to Seattle’s local writing scene. They’re open til 10 pm on weekdays, 11 pm on Friday and Saturday, and close “early” at 9 pm on Sundays. It’s a place to browse big titles and local zines, research, hang out, curl up in a corner, meet up with friends, buy gifts, and grab a coffee, beer or meal at the Little Oddfellows café in back, which is open whenever the store is. They haven’t lost any charm in the move from their expansive Pioneer Square building to the multi-level Capitol Hill location (but they have lost their large used books section). Head buyer/events coordinator Rick Simonson is a local gem, an avid reader, and unbelievably knowledgeable about both local and national literary news. Whether you’re looking for a perspective-altering reading or just a brief respite from Capitol Hill hubbub, Elliott Bay is your spot. (JULIA RABAN)

    Upcoming Events at Elliott Bay Book Company

    Thu, Jun 04

    Fri, Jun 05

    Wed, Jun 10

    Tue, Jun 16

    Tue, Jul 21

    Tue, Aug 18

    Tue, Sep 15

    Tue, Oct 20

    Tue, Nov 17

    Tue, Dec 15

    Tue, Jan 19, 2021

    Tue, Feb 16, 2021

    Tue, Mar 16, 2021

    Tue, Apr 20, 2021

    Tue, May 18, 2021

    Tue, Jun 15, 2021

    Tue, Jul 20, 2021

    Tue, Aug 17, 2021

    Tue, Sep 21, 2021

    Tue, Oct 19, 2021